Follow us on social media:



April 5, 2014 - Drivers, crews and fans from all over the region braved the cool nighttime temperatures for the second race of the 2014 season at Tazewell Speedway. All divisions were gunning for double points.

Tazewell Late Models were on showcase with Clinton’s Terry Wolfenbarger making his first start of the season and setting quick time in qualifying with a lap of 11.896 seconds. He would draw a three on the invert which put Newport’s Josh Henry on the front row of the feature along Ross White of Karns. Henry would take the early lead followed by White and Wolfenbarger. By lap six Henry extended the lead over White by 4 car lengths. Lap traffic would close that gap on lap eleven. On lap twenty-two Steve Smith dove low going into turn three clipping the left rear of White’s car sending him sliding sideways into turn four as they battled for position. While trying to straighten the car out White made contact with the car of Brent Hensley which sent him hard into the outside wall and flipping onto it’s top. Hensley would emerge uninjured and White retired from the race with damage. During the red flag period Wolfenbarger, who had moved into second, was sent to the end of the lead lap for allowing a crew member onto the track without permission from track officials. Once the track was cleared Henry would hold off Smith and Jody Horton for his first Tazewell Late Model win of the season in his new Rocket Race Car.

Tazewell Late Models
1. B00 Josh Henry
2. 3 Steve Smith
3. 56J Jody Horton
4. 14 Terry Wolfenbarger
5. 12 Craig Gregg
6. 24 Andy Wilder
7. 24 Creed Hance
8. 0 Ross White
9. 70 Brent Hensley
10. 28 Jerry Williams Jr.
11. 21K Dakotah Knuckles
12. 17 Brian Shockley
13. 15 Wade Howerton
DNS 11 Anthony Arnwine
DNS 8 Josh Chesney

Since it’s inception last season the Sportsman division has attracted up and coming drivers and underfunded teams from all around the region. After cutting his teeth in the Modified Street division second-generation driver Clyde Overholt moved up into the Sportsman ranks in only his second start behind the wheel of a dirt late model. Overholt would set quick time with a lap of 12.353 seconds and draw a two in the invert. This would put him on the outside of the front row alongside Jordon Horton of Sneedville who picked up the Sportsman win two weeks ago. With the drop of the green Overholt shouldered his way into the lead followed by Horton, Justin Beeler and Heath Alvey. While Overholt was comfortable using the high line Horton was diving down in the turns looking for a line that would allow him to catch up. On lap seven Horton dove low and pulled alongside Overholt as they exited turn two. The next lap would find the duo encountering lap traffic with Horton backing off a bit. By lap ten Horton would recoup and close the gap for the lead. Overholt car slipped up high in turn three on lap thirteen and Horton took advantage going down low to try for the lead. Overholt was able to hang onto the lead and score his first ever Sportsman win in the Overholt Fabrication, Noah’s Wholesale, Baker Tree Service, Bailey’s Body Shop sponsored Stinger Race Car powered by a DJ’s Performance Racing Engine.

1. 4 Clyde Overholt
2. 56H Jordon Horton
3. 7 Heath Alvey
4. 25 Justin Beeler
5. G7 Billy Gordon
6. 34V Jason Varner
7. 30 Taylor Coffman
8. 8 Jacob Owens
9. 02 Michael Hawk
10. 29 Chris Raines
11. 77 Jimmy Calloway

Brad Davis of Tazewell would set quick time in Modified Street qualifying and draw the pole for the feature in the invert draw. Davis would take the early lead while holding off Dakotah Knuckles of Ewing, VA who started second. While Davis was pulling away with the lead Knuckles and Morristown’s Gary Blanken put on a show as they battled door to door for second. As they mixed it up on lap three Knuckles would spin in turn two sending him to the rear of the field. On the restart Davis widened the gap between him and Blanken. Just as it looked that lady luck was on Davis’ side,his night would end as he suffered motor woes going into turn one on lap seven dumping oil and water onto the track. With nowhere to go Blanken’s car went sideways on the fluid slick collecting Tony Horton. Blanken would go pitside for repairs and return. Inheriting the lead, Horton would hold off Knuckles for his first win of the season. Horton’s car is sponsored by Discount Parts City Auto Parts, Bobby’s Used Honda, Gordon Construction, and Visual Designs by Brian.

Modified Street
1. 56 Tony Horton
2. 21K Dakotah Knuckles
3. 5 Gary Blanken
4. 25 Eric Webber
5. 88 Brad Davis
6. 28 Justin James
7. 1 David Clark
DNS Robbie Buchanan

After three failed attempts at a double file start Joe Keck would take the early lead in the Classic Car feature after the field started single file. Keck held off a strong challenge from Josh Chesney and Matt Tharp in the early going. By lap fifteen Phillip Thompson, who started fourth, caught up with the front three. On lap seventeen Thompson dove low and took the lead away from Keck. Leading the remaining laps Thompson picked up his second win in a row in his Classic Car sponsored by Skyline Transportation, Filmax Filtration Systems, Logistics Detailers and Flynn Carpet Service.

Classic Car

1. 24 Phillip Thompson
2. 20 Matt Tharp
3. 18 Joe Keck
4. 7 Bart Baxter
5. 13J Joel Wolfenbarger
6. 74 Justin Overton
7. C74 Cliff Lane
8. 7 John Stevens
9. 8 Josh Chesney
10. 24 Scott Lacy
11. 88 Richie Overholser

Austin Fancher of Newport would take the early lead over Chuck McMahan and Rufus Collett in the 4 Cylinder feature. The caution would come out on lap six for Tim Miller with engine troubles. During the caution Fancher would drop out with transmission problems giving the lead over to McMahan. The crowd on hand witnessed some hard racing between McMahan, Kurt Owens and Joey Allen. In the end it was McMahan picking up his first win of the year in the Round Boy Motorsports, FBR, Lowes Auto Parts Ford Mustang.

4 Cylinders
1. 99 Chuck McMahan
2. A00 Joey Allen
3. 7UP Kurt Owens
4. 72 Rufus Collett
5. 84 Paul Meyers
6. 22 Chris Reichert
7. 13 John Collett
8. 2A Austin Fancher
9. 2 Tim Miller
10. 49 Roger Hurst

The folks who stuck around for the last feature of the evening were treated to a great show as Jonathan Miracle, Jason Saylor and Michael Boyd provided the closest racing of the night. Saylor would take the early lead with Boyd pulling alongside on lap four. Miracle would take over the lead on lap six as Saylor and Boyd battling nose to tail for the rest of the feature. In the end it was Miracle making it two in a row in the Dodge Ram pick-up.

Pure Street
1. 26 Jonathan Miracle
2. 5 Jason Saylor
3. 21 Michael Boyd
4. 97 Bo Hall
5. 22 Anthony Morgan
DNS 11 Tim Stevens
DNS 69 Paul Tarver

This Saturday night we welcome back the World of Outlaws Late Model Series presented by Scion of Knoxville. Some of the nation’s best Super Late Model drivers will be on hand to battle for $10,000 to win. More information can be found on our website at and also our Facebook and Twitter pages.