Follow us on social media:



Tazewell Speedway kicked off their 49th season of comeptition on Saturday night with the 5th Annual Charles Trammell Memorial with one of the largest crowds ever for an opening night.

Limited Late Models were on showcase with $1500 for the winner. Cory Hedgecock of Loudon would set fast time with a lap of 11.764 seconds. In past two months Hedgecock has proved himself as the hottest driver in east Tennessee winning all three of the Limited Late Model contests he has entered. Drawing the one in the invert Hedgecock would start in the pole position of the feature alongside Ross White of Karns. At the drop of the green White and Hedgeock raced side by side down the back stretch with White slipping into the lead. After completing the first circuit White's car slipped up high and tagged the outside wall coming out of turn two. As White was gathering the car he collected Greg Estes who sustained race ending damage bringing out the first caution. White would retain the lead as his car did not stop on the speedway.

On the restart Jason Trammell, who started fourth, used the bottom groove to challenge for the second spot as Hedgecock went high to take the lead away from White. Trammell and White would race door to door for position until lap seven when Trammell was able to secure the spot. As they were battling Hedgecock extended his lead to over eight car lengths. The last caution would come on lap twenty-one as Matthew Holt's car suffered motor troubles. Hedgecock went on to lead the remaining laps to score his fourth victory in as many starts in the Eagle Racing Engines powered Rocket Race Car sponsored by Renegade Race and Performance Fuels, K&P Used Cars, Total Communication and DirtWrap.

Limited Late Models
1 23 Cory Hedgecock
2 90J Jason Trammell
3 12T Dan Tipton
4 O Ross White
5 BOO Josh Henry
6 7 Brian Smith
7 5 Josh Chesney
8 70 Brent Hensley
9 22 Matthew Holt
10 32 Jason Manley
11 3 Steve Smith
12 2 Mitchell Childress
13 17 Brian Shockley
14 31 Greg Estes
Andy Wilder DNS
Jerry Williams DNS

Heath Alvey of Dandridge, with two wins already under his belt in 2014, would earn fast time in Sportsman qualifying with a lap of 12.372 seconds and draw the two to start on the outside of the front row beside Clyde Overholt. After several season honing his skills in the Modified Street division Overholt made his Late Model debut using a race car that had been sitiing idle for over five years. After three failed attempts at a double file start race officials lined the field up single file. Overholt would lead the first lap followed by Alvey, Jordon Horton, Keith Chapman and Justin Beeler. Horton's car bobbled allowing Chapman to take over third. On the second lap Alvey slipped into the lead as he and Overholt raced door to door coming out of turn four. Horton would take back the third from Chapman on lap five. Just as it looked that Alvey was on his way to his third win of the year his engine would expire on lap ten bringing out the caution. On the restart Horton dove down low in turn two to take the lead away from Overholt. By lap seventeen Horton would extend his lead to over half track and dominate the rest of the race for his first win of the season in the River Place on the Clinch, Brabston Trucking and Excavating, Discount Parts City, Greasy Rock Auto Shop sponosred Chevrolet SS.

1 56H Jordon Horton
2 4 Clyde Overholt
3 97 Keith Chapman
4 25 Justin Beeler
5 18 Anthony Burchett
6 33 Warren McMahan
7 G7 Billy Gordon
8 34V Jason Varner
9 29 Chris Raines
10 O2 Michael Hawk
11 7 Heath Alvey
12 77 Jimmy Calloway
13 18 Rick Welch
14 2 Steve Smith
15 14 Rex Coffey
Larry Moore DNS
Ryan Carey DNS
Bryan Howerton DNS

The action didn't stop in the Modified Street feature. Gary Blanken would set fast time and draw the three on the invert which would give the starting spot to Robbie Buchanan who shared the front row of the feature with Tony Horton. Buchanan would take the early lead as Blanken and Horton fought door to door for the second spot. Before the second lap could be completed Horton would get loose in turn four collecting Dakotah Knuckles. Both cars were undamaged but Horton would have to go to the rear of the field for bringing out the caution. On the restart Brad Davis strated pressuring Knuckles for second before he would spin on lap three. By lap four Horton had worked his way through the field to take second away from Knuckles and set his sights on Buchanan. The duo would race side by side several times with Horton taking the lead away on lap seven. As Horton pulled away a three way battle ensued for second between Buchanan, Blanken and Davis. On lap eleven Blanken would spin going into turn four collecting Davis who would continue with heavy right side body damage. Buchanan would charge back on the top groove to pull up alongside Horton and take the lead back on lap fourteen and hold off Horton for the first win of the season in the Petty's Wrecker Service, Robbie's Auto Sales, Sign Center, O.T.'s Frame and Body Shop sponsored Chevrolet Monte Carlo.

Modified Street
1 P21 Robbie Buchanan
2 88 Brad Davis
3 56 Tony Horton
4 5 Gary Blanken
5 21K Dakota Knuckles
6 25 Eric Webber
7 3 Bret Banks

Phillip Thompson of Knoxvillewould hold off a hardcharging Joel Wolfenbarger and Bart Baxter to score the Classic Car feature in his car sponsored by Skyline Transportation, Filmax Filtration Systems, Logistic Detailers and Flynn Carpet Service.

Classic Car
1 24 Phillip Thompson
2 7 Bart Baxter
3 13J Joel Wolfenbarger
4 74 Justin Overton
5 20 Matthew Tharp
6 24 Scott Lacy
7 C74 Cliff Lane
8 7 John Stevens
9 88 Richie Overholser
10 1 Shane Lockhart
Joe Keck DNS
Josh Chesney DNS

Jonathan Miracle picked up where he left off last season winning the Pure Street feature in the Dodge Ram truck.

Pure Street
1 26 Jonathan Miracle
2 11 Tim Stevens
3 15 Jason Long
4 97 Bo Hall
5 21 Michael Boyd
6 5 Jason Saylor
7 22 T J Barnes
8 58 Kevin Smith
9 C5 Daniel Carpenter
10 92T Travis Crosby
11 10 Garry Jones

Newport's Kurt Owens would start from dead last and take the lead away from Austin Fancher on lap three to score his first win of the season to celebrate his birthday.

4 Cylinder
1 7 Up Kurt Owens
2 2A Austin Fancher
3 22 Chris Reichert
4 72 Rufus Collett
5 84 Paul Meyers
6 26 Steve Parrott
7 49 Roger HurstWeather permitting Tazewell Speedway will hold an open practice on Saturday, March 29th. Our next race will be on April 5th with a full racing program and $1 hot dogs.